Task Force

The AGU Ethics Task Force reports to the AGU Council and Board and is chaired by the AGU Ethics Chair. The charge of the Ethics Task Force is to:

  1. Review the current state of AGU Ethics policy and practices as they relate to the issue of harassment and work-climate issues, especially in comparison to leading practices of other professional/scholarly societies and the needs of AGU members;
  2. As appropriate, recommend updates and revisions to AGU’s current Ethics Policy to explicitly add code of conduct principles related to harassment and work-climate issues; and to explicitly address the code of conduct expectations for all AGU members, regardless of whether the member is an AGU volunteer leader or not;
  3. Review the AGU Meetings Code of Conduct, and other such policies, for any updates needed related to potential AGU Ethics Policy changes;
  4. Review and recommend whether and under what circumstances the AGU ethics policy may extend to member egregious conduct that takes place outside of AGU functions;
  5. Review the existing AGU processes for filing ethics complaints, conducting investigations, and imposing disciplinary sanctions, to determine whether an update or additional guidance is needed for these processes related to harassment or work-climate issues;
  6. Review and recommend how ethics and member code-of-conduct issues should be addressed in AGU Honors and Awards considerations;
  7. Recommend any additional considerations for AGU to educate its members more broadly on the issue of harassment, provide additional resources or guidance for addressing the issue, and support members who may be targets of harassment or other hostile workplace conduct.



Michael McPhaden, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, Seattle Washington


Alexander Bryan, University of Massachusetts, Amherst, Massachusetts
Catherine Chauvel, University of Grenoble, Grenoble, France
Michael Coe, Woods Hole Research Center, Woods Hole, Massachusetts
Cathy Constable, Scripps Institution of Oceanography, San Diego, California
Aisling Dolan, University of Leeds, Leeds, United Kingdom
Andrea Donnellan, NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory, Pasadena, California
Tim Elliott, University of Bristol, Bristol, United Kingdom (pending)
Linda Gundersen, United States Geological Survey, Ocean View, Delaware
Eileen Hofmann, Old Dominion University, Norfolk, Virginia
Mary Anne Holmes, University of Nebraska, Lincoln, Nebraska
Ashanti Johnson, University of Texas, Arlington, Texas
Erika Marin-Spiotta, University of Wisconsin, Madison
John Melack, University of California, Santa Barbara, California
David Mogk, Montana State University, Bozeman, Montana
Mark Moldwin, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, Michigan
Elise Pendall, Western Sydney University, New South Wales, Australia
Niescja Turner, Trinity University, San Antonio, Texas

AGU Staff Partners

Billy Williams
Randy Townsend


The task force began its work by mid-June 2016, and will provide preliminary recommendations to AGU Council and Board by December 2016. Membership for the task force was drawn from a broad cross-section of AGU and includes representation from other institutions and organizations, including a scientific society with specific protocols for addressing inappropriate conduct outside of that society’s programs. The task force includes no less than 3 current members of AGU Council or Board, at least 2 student or early-career AGU members, 4 members from outside the U.S., and at least one member from the original AGU Ethics Task Force.